© Claus Dürrmann, Ferienland Bernkastel-Kues

Förster-Claus-Weg

  • start: at the junction leading to the Osann-Monzel shooting house, the sports field or the former Osann Jewish cemetery.
  • destination: at the junction leading to the Osann-Monzel shooting house, the sports field or the former Osann Jewish cemetery.
  • easy
  • 6,72 km
  • 1 hour 55 minutes
  • 136 m
  • 327 m
  • 191 m
  • 40 / 100
  • 20 / 100

The trail, which is about 7 kilometres long, passes one of the oldest oak trees in the region. You can also see St Paul's Church near Lieser, Landshut Castle near Bernkastel-Kues, the town of Wittlich and the peaks of the Hunsrück.

The "Claus" oak is a testimony to the earlier use of the forest for grazing, which was practised until the beginning of the 19th century. Single standing oaks with their expansive treetops provided shelter from rain and heat for the cattle grazing in the forest. They also contributed to the fattening of the pigs with their acorns. In former times, however, there was also a forest-field economy. Cereals were cultivated. Both uses were very intensive and led to more than 30 percent of the forest areas in this area becoming desolate during this time. In the middle of the 19th century, the wasteland was reforested with oaks. The forester "Claus" at the time rendered outstanding services to this reforestation.

The exact age of the "Claus" oak can only be estimated.  It is about 350 years old and the circumference of the trunk near the ground is almost 5.50 metres, the diameter about 1.60 metres. The amount of wood is estimated at about 25 cubic metres.

Impressions

General information

Directions

The "Förster-Claus-Weg" starts at the junction of the L53 and L47 west of Osann, at a junction in the meadow, parallel to the L53 state road. At first, the path follows a long straight stretch along vineyards, fields and meadows. After about 1.2 kilometres, the trail enters the forest, always steadily uphill. After about 2 kilometres, at a junction, the path continues to climb up the "Stöppelberg" and its foothills.  At a forest junction, the trail continues straight ahead for a while before a footpath leads us to "Förster-Claus-Eiche". Afterwards, we continue along a forest path that is hardly used or travelled. We finally reach the edge of the forest above a vineyard and enjoy the view. Far away, with good visibility, you can make out St. Paul's Church near Lieser, Landshut Castle near Bernkastel-Kues and the ridges of the Hunsrück. There is a short stretch on asphalt, then we turn into a forest path again and then into a path that leads down to the headwaters of a small stream. Continuing downhill, we meet the asphalt path again at a fenced fish pond. After a short ascent, there is another new view! You can now see as far as the town of Wittlich and the "Wittlicher Senke". On the tarred road we then reach a refuge that invites us to take a rest. About 250 metres further on, we leave the asphalt road and reach a farm track at the edge of the forest above vineyards. We then walk along the side of the mountain back to the starting point.

Safety Guidelines

No special safety instructions

Equipment

Sturdy shoes are recommended.

Tip

a refuge towards the end of the hike invites you to take a rest

Getting there

1. West of Osann via the "Trierer Straße": turn right directly after the overpass over the L53 and then park your car on the side of the farm tracks there;

2. coming from Klausen on the L47, turn left shortly before the junction with the L47 in the direction of Bernkastel-Kues or the L53 in the direction of Witlich. Turn left again directly before the overpass over the L53 and then park on the side of the farm track there.

Parking

Parking is available on the side of the farm road. 

Public transit

www.moselbahn.dewww.vrt-info.de, www.bahn.de

Bernkastel-Kues: Taxi Edringer: (0049) 6531 - 8149, Taxi Priwitzer: (0049) 6531 - 96970, Taxi Reitz: (0049) 6531 - 6455

Literature

As the "Förster-Claus-Weg" is a new hiking trail, there is currently no literature available.

Maps

The Förster-Claus-Weg is a new hiking trail in the holiday region of Bernkastel-Kues and is not yet marked on any hiking maps.

For orientation: in the intersection area of the L53 and L47 west of Osann, however, the hiking trail "Auf der Höhe" is marked in various hiking maps (also in the hiking map MOSEL, FERIENLAND BERNKASTEL-KUES, 1:25000), which connects Osann-Monzel with Klausen. There, at the junction with the corridor, the "Förster-Claus-Weg" starts - parallel to the L53 - on a farm track.

Additional Information

Ferienland Bernkastel-Kues

Gestade 6

54470 Bernkastel-Kues

Phone: (0049) 6531/50019-0

info@bernkastel.de

https://en.bernkastel.de/

Pavings

  • Crushed Rock (1%)
  • Hiking Trail (68%)
  • Unknown (31%)

Weather

This tour is presented by: Ferienland Bernkastel-Kues, Author: Claus Dürrmann

Next steps
Download GPX

It appears that you are using Microsoft Internet Explorer as your web browser to access our site.

For practical and security reasons, we recommend that you use a current web browser such as Firefox, Chrome, Safari, Opera, or Edge. Internet Explorer does not always display the complete content of our website and does not offer all the necessary functions.

© Claus Dürrmann, Ferienland Bernkastel-Kues

Förster-Claus-Weg

  • Start: an der Einmündung, die zum Schützenhaus Osann-Monzel, zum Sportplatz bzw. zum ehemaligen Osanner Judenfriedhof führt
  • Ziel: an der Einmündung, die zum Schützenhaus Osann-Monzel, zum Sportplatz bzw. zum ehemaligen Osanner Judenfriedhof führt
  • leicht
  • 6,72 km
  • 1 Std. 55 Min.
  • 136 m
  • 327 m
  • 191 m
  • 40 / 100
  • 20 / 100

Der rund 7 Kilometer lange Weg führt an einer der ältesten Eichen der Region vorbei und bietet bei guter Sicht weitere tolle Sehenswürdigkeiten wie die Burg Landshut oder die Paulskirche.

Die "Claus" Eiche ist ein Zeugnis der früheren, bis zum Beginn des 19. Jahrhunderts ausgeübten Wald-Weide-Nutzung. Einzeln stehende Eichen mit ihren weitausladenen Baumkronen boten dem im Wald weidenen Vieh Schutz bei Regen und Hitze. Außerdem trugen sie mit den Eicheln zur Mast der Schweine bei. Es gab aber früher auch eine Wald-Feld-Wirtschaft. Man baute Getreide an. Beide Nutzungen waren sehr intensiv und führten dazu, dass in dieser Zeit mehr als 30 Prozent der Waldflächen in diesem Bereich verödeten. Mitte des 19. Jahrhunderts wurde das Ödland dann mit Eichen wieder aufgeforstet. Der damalige Förster "Claus" hat sich um diese Aufforstung besonders verdient gemacht. 

Einblicke in die Wandertour:

Eine entspannte Wanderung durch den Wald vorbei an der ca. 350 Jahre alten "Claus" Eiche. Bei guter Sicht bieten sich tolle Ausblick unter anderem auf die Burg Landshut bei Bernkastel-Kues, die Paulskirche bei Lieser und die Gipfel des Hunsrücks.

Einkehrmöglichkeiten gibt es in Osann-Monzel.

Impressionen

Allgemeine Informationen

Wegbeschreibung

Im Kreuzungsbereich der L53 und  L47 westlich von Osann, an einer Einmündung in die Flur, parallel zur Landesstsraße L53, startet der "Förster-Claus-Weg". Zunächst folgt der Weg einer langen Geraden entlang von Weinbergen, Feldern und Wiesen. Nach ca. 1,2 Kilometern geht es dann in den Wald hinein, immer stetig bergauf. Nach ca. 2 Kilomerten, an einem Abzweig, schraubt sich der Weg weiter auf den "Stöppelberg" und seinen Ausläufern hinauf.  An einer Waldkreuzung geht es noch etwas geradeaus, bevor uns ein Fußpfad zu "Förster-Claus-Eiche" führt. Das genaue Alter der "Claus" Eiche kann nur geschätzt werden.  Sie ist rund 350 Jahre alt und der Umfang des Stammes in Bodennähe beträgt fast 5,50 Meter, der Durchmesser ca. 1,60 Meter. Die Holzmenge wird auf ca. 25 Kubikmeter geschätzt. Danach geht es weiter, auf einem kaum befahrenen und genutzten Waldweg. Wir erreichen schließlich den Waldrand oberhalb von einem Weinberg und genießen die Aussicht. Weit entfernt kann man von hier bei guter Sicht die Paulskirche bei Lieser, die Burg Landshut bei Bernkastel-Kues und die Höhenzüge des Hunsrücks ausmachen. Es folgt ein kurzes Stück auf Asphalt , dann biegen wir wieder in einen Waldweg ein und anschließend in einen Pfad, der hinab zum Quellbereich eines kleinen Baches führt. Weiter bergab treffen wir an einem eingezäunten Fischteich wieder auf den asphaltierten Weg. Nach kurzem Anstieg gibt es wieder eine neue Aussicht! Bis zur Stadt Wittlich und in die "Wittlicher Senke" kann man nun schauen. Auf der Teerstraße ereichen wir danach eine Schutzhütte, die zur Rast einlädt. Ca. 250 Meter weiter verlassen wir den asphaltierte Weg und erreichen einen Wirtschaftsweg am Waldrand oberhalb von Weinbergen. An der Bergflanke entlang geht es dann zurück zum Ausgangspunkt. 

Sicherheitshinweise

Keine speziellen Sicherheitshinweise

Ausrüstung

Festes Schuhwerk wird empfohlen.

Tipp des Autors

Eine kleine Schutzhütte gegen Ende der 7 Kilometer langen Wanderung lädt zu einer gemütlichen Rast ein.

Anfahrt

1. westlich des Ortsteils Osann über die "Trierer Straße" :  direkt nach der Überführung über die L53 rechts abbiegen und den PKW dann am Seitenrand der dortigen Wirtschaftswege abstellen;

2. aus Richtung Klausen auf der L47 kommend kurz vor dem Abzweig L47 Richtung Bernkastel-Kues bzw. L53 Richtung Witlich links abbiegen. Direkt vor der Überführung über die L53 wieder links abbiegen und dann am Wegesrand des dortigen Wirtschaftsweges parken.  

 

Parken

Parkmöglichkeiten finden sich am Weges-/ Seitenrand des dortigen Wirtschaftsweges.

Öffentliche Verkehrsmittel

www.moselbahn.dewww.vrt-info.de, www.bahn.de

Bernkastel-Kues: Taxi Edringer: 06531 - 8149, Taxi Priwitzer: 06531 - 96970, Taxi Reitz: 06531 - 6455

Literatur

Da der "Förster-Claus-Weg" ein neuer Wanderweg ist, gibt es momentan noch keine Literatur.

Karten

Der Förster-Claus-Weg ist ein neuer Wanderweg im Ferienland Bernkastel-Kues und derzeit noch nicht in Wanderkarten verzeichnet.

Zur Orientierung: im Kreuzungsbereich der L53 und  L47 westlich von Osann ist aber in verschiedenen Wanderkarten (auch in der Wanderkarte MOSEL, FERIENLAND BERNKASTEL-KUES, 1:25000) der Wanderweg "Auf der Höhe" eingezeichnet, der Osann-Monzel mit Klausen verbindet. Dort an der Einmündung in die Flur startet -  parallel zur L53 - der "Förster-Claus-Weg" auf einem Wirtschaftsweg. 

Weitere Informationen

Ferienland Bernkastel-Kues

Gestade 6

54470 Bernkastel-Kues

Tel. 06531/50019-0

info@bernkastel.de

www.bernkastel.de

Wegbelag

  • Schotter (1%)
  • Wanderweg (68%)
  • Unbekannt (31%)

Wetter

Diese Tour wird präsentiert von: Ferienland Bernkastel-Kues, Autor: Claus Dürrmann

Was möchtest du als nächstes tun?
GPX herunterladen

Sie benutzen offenbar den Internet Explorer von Microsoft als Webbrowser, um sich unsere Internetseite anzusehen.

Aus Gründen der Funktionalität und Sicherheit empfehlen wir dringend, einen aktuellen Webbrowser wie Firefox, Chrome, Safari, Opera oder Edge zu nutzen. Der Internet Explorer zeigt nicht alle Inhalte unserer Internetseite korrekt an und bietet nicht alle ihre Funktionen.